Reminder to refresh bib workform after editing in compare tool
Because edits can be made on a bib from the compare tool while the bib workform is open and unlocked, it would be helpful to have a reminder to staff to refresh the bib workform if they return to it. When staff are working with multiple bibs, it is easy to forget that a refresh is needed before making additional edits. Saving in the bib workform can result in losing the edits made in the compare tool.
Ideally a pop-up or a highlighted refresh button would only show up if edits had been made to the bib elsewhere. This could also be useful to show that changes had been made if a locked bib is open while someone else is editing it.
-
Fran Juergensmeyer
commented
I like being able to add information from a newer vendor record before merging, but I have been caught by this problem a few times. Having that reminder would be very useful!
-
Alexis Schaffer
commented
Personally I think the main bib should be locked if you are editing it in the compare tool. That being said, it is nice to be able to go back and see item details in the bib, which are not available in the compare tool. But maybe the bib could still be locked for editing if you have the compare tool open? Likewise, I think if you've made edits in the bib and go to open the compare tool, there should be a pop-up telling you to save, or indicating that the changes made won't show up in the compare unless you save first.